Library Home | Library Databases | Library Catalog | Frequently Asked Questions
Skip to main content
Banner Image

Political Science - U.S. and Wyoming Government (POLS 1000) - Frankland: Home

Paper Assignments

  • Papers (100 points)- There will be three written assignments for this course.  These papers will deal with the issues raised by the Grover & Peschek book.  Grover & Peschek explore some of the key issues facing American politics as well as the concerns about key political institutions.  You are not restricted to the issues assigned in the syllabus, but may choose from any of the 40 articles.  
  • For the first paper, you are to select one issue from one of the 40 articles, and using just that selection critique the key points and concerns regarding the selected issue (e.g., Bill Moyers’s  argument that an independent media is essential for an informed public in article 16).  You may find things to agree and disagree with in your critique. This paper should be 2-3 pages in length excluding the title page and is worth 25 points.
  • For the second paper, you are to select a different article/chapter from the first paper and enhance this critique with material drawn from a minimum of 2 legitimate outside sources chosen through the Casper College Library’s databases (in addition to the Grover & Peschek article, so you would have a minimum of 3 sources).  All materials used should be correctly listed in your bibliography attached as the end of your paper.  Again, you may find points of agreement and/or disagreement.  This paper should also be 2-3 pages in length excluding the title page and bibliography, and is worth 25 points.
  • For the third paper, you are to select a third issue and this time examine how the political parties or major political officials (President Obama and U.S. House Speaker Boehner will be the easiest, but feel free to look at others) address the issue.  You will need a minimum of 4 legitimate outside sources chosen through the Casper College Library’s databases (in addition to the Grover & Peschek article, so you would have a minimum of 5 sources), but you may also want to draw from the parties or officials directly (websites, etc.).   All materials used should be correctly listed in your bibliography attached at the end of your paper.  This paper should be 4-6 pages in length excluding the title page and the bibliography page and is worth 50 points.  
  • Each paper should address the key points or arguments regarding the issue as well as your evaluation of these.  Your paper could simply be informative on that issue or you may take an argumentative approach (write in support of the author(s) or you may take a contrary stance).  Each paper must be drawn from a different selection of the book.  The basic guidelines for these papers and the current events journal are included at the end of the syllabus.

Search Terms

Some suggested keywords and subject headings for the Library Online Catalog searches:

  • Congress
  • Constitution
  • Conservatism
  • Liberalism
  • Presidency
  • United States- Politics and Government

Some Suggested Books - Main Collection (1st Floor)

Related Guides